dakar rally, Motoring News, motorsport, off-road racing, rallying

SA Toyota team still showing the way on 2019 Dakar

SAN JUAN DE MARCONA, Peru – The second day of racing on the Peruvian Dakar saw a ding-dong battle among the leaders but it panned out to Peugeot’s Sebastien Loeb winning the stage with a time eight seconds faster than Mini’s Nani Roma.

However the biggest gains were made by Toyota Gazoo Racing SA’s Giniel de Villiers/Dirk von Zitzewitz (302) and Bernhard ten Brinke/Xavier Panseri (309).

Ten Brinke/Panseri started eighth on the 342km racing stage from Pisco to San Juan de Marcona                         but drove his Toyota Hilux home only 01min20 behind the winner to secure second overall in the race.

2019 DAKAR RACE MAP: The whole event will be run in Peru.
2019 DAKAR RACE MAP: The whole event will be run in Peru.

De Villiers/Von Zitzewitz, however, have taken the overall lead despite finishing fourth on the stage and 11sec behind Ten Brinke who is second overall, 28sec behind De Villiers.

Winners of the first racing stage, Nasser Al Attiyah/Mathieu Baumel ,were 10th over a stage described as ”extremely tricky” – thick sand and fine dust – but were happy to restrict their time loss to 07min37 on the day. They will start 10th on the next stage.

READ MORE Dakar features on Carman’s Corner

Toyota Gazoo Racing SA’s team boss Glyn Hall reported from the bivouac at San Juan de Marcona? ”We’re very happy with our performances. Nasser and Mathieu were superb at the head of the field and the other two crews delivered superb drives that have put us on top of the overall positions.”

Mini’s Stephane Peterhansel lost nearly 20 minutes with his wheels buried in the fine sand.

The third racing stage will involve a liaison of 460km and 331km of racing over the dunes to Acari, The bivouac at San Juan de Marcona will move south to Arequipa for the start of racing Stage 4.

The race will finish in Lima  on January 17.

Get more comprehensive information about the 2019 Dakar Rally.


1 Loeb / Elena (Peugeot)
2 Roma / Haro (Mini) +00min08
3 Ten Brinke / Panseri (Toyota) +01min20
4 De Villiers / Von Zitzewitz (Toyota) +01min31
5 Al Rajhi / Gottschalk (Mini) +02min33
6 Despres / Cottret (Mini) +03min14
7 Hunt / Rosegaar (Peugeot) +03min24
8 Sainz / Cruz (Mini) +04min40
9 Fuchs / Mussano (Prototype) +05min01
10 Vasilyev / Zhiltsov (Toyota) +05min36
11 Al Attiyah / Baumel (Toyota) +07min37


1 De Villiers / Von Zitzewitz (Toyota)
2 Ten Brinke / Panseri (Toyota) +00min28
3 Roma / Haro (Mini) +00min42
4 Al Rajhi / Gottschalk (Mini) +00min50
5 Loeb / Elena (Peugeot) +01min56
6 Sainz / Cruz (Mini) +02min28
7 Hunt / Rosegaar (Peugeot) +02min38
8 Al Attiyah / Baumel (Toyota) +03min26
9 Despres / Cottret (Mini) +03min28
10 Vasilyev / Zhiltsov (Toyota) +03min43

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s